The very first edition of the women's European Championship took place in 1949 in Prague, with participation of seven national teams and the Soviet Union claiming the title. From 1950 onwards, the event ran together with the men’s competition up until 1989, when Sweden and West Germany hosted the men’s and women’s continental showpiece event, respectively. EuroVolley 2019 was the first time the continental flagship competition featured as many as 24 participating teams; 14 nations have medalled at least once this far, with Russia boasting an impressive tally of 26 medals, including 17 won by the Soviet Union, which secured the title a record 13 times.

The 31 European Championship tournaments have been won by eight different national teams. Russia have won nineteen times (thirteen as Soviet Union). The other multiple European Championship winners are Serbia with three titles, as well Germany (as East Germany), Italy, and Poland with two apiece; Bulgaria, Czech Republic as (Czechoslovakia) and the Netherlands follow next with one title each. Pictured are the home heroines of Bulgaria that caused a major sensation at the 1981 European Championship as they stopped the Soviet supremacy after seven consecutive editions.

Serbia retained their title from the 2017 edition as they silenced some 13,000 Turkish fans at Ankara Arena to produce a dramatic 3-2 victory in the gold medal match of the history-making CEV EuroVolley 2019. This result accounts for Serbia's third continental crown to go with those claimed in 2011 on home soil in Belgrade and in 2017 in Baku, Azerbaijan. Serbia became only the fourth team to secure back-to-back titles after the Soviet Union / Russia, Poland and Italy had previously achieved this feat.