The very first European Championship took place in Rome, Italy, back in 1948 and it featured six teams only. The format of the tournament and the number of participating teams have changed multiple times throughout the decades – but the 2019 edition coincided with a real 'revolution', since for the first time ever as many as 24 nations were able to compete for the highest honours in European Volleyball, with the tournament co-hosted by four countries (France, Slovenia, Belgium and the Netherlands). As many as 15 countries have medalled at least once, with Russia leading the way with 22 medals in total, including 14 claimed by the former Soviet Union.  

The 31 European Championship tournaments for men have been won by nine different national teams. Russia have won fourteen times (twelve as Soviet Union). The other European Championship winners are Italy, with six titles; Czech Republic as (Czechoslovakia) and Serbia (once as Yugoslavia), with three titles apiece; and France, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania and Spain, with one title each.  Pictured is the Soviet Union's captain Viacheslav Zaytsev standing on top of the podium after their win in East Berlin in 1983 for their seventh consecutive European crown. 

Last time out, Serbia came back from one set down in September of 2019 to edge Slovenia and secure their third continental title after previously achieving the same feat in 2001 (as Yugoslavia) and 2011. Slovenia had to be content with their second silver medal in history, a result matching their sensational performance from the 2015 edition of the championship. As many as 12,654 fans witnessed the final act of a truly historic CEV EuroVolley Men competition held at the iconic AccorHotels Arena in Paris.