Reigning World champions Poland and hosts the Netherlands headline the CEV EuroVolley 2019 Men Pool D, with matches due to take place in Rotterdam and Amsterdam. The organisers expect some 10,000 fans at Ahoy Rotterdam on Sunday, September 15 for the ‘big match’ between the White-and-Reds and the local ‘Lange Mannen’. The teams of Czech Republic, Estonia, Ukraine and Montenegro will be trying to upset their more decorated opponents in an effort to secure a spot in the 8th Finals. There is much curiosity especially around Team Montenegro, who make their historic maiden appearance at EuroVolley since the Balkan country achieved independence in 2006.

• Czech Republic, Netherlands and Poland have all previously won the European Championship.
• Czech Republic won in 1948, 1955 and 1958 (all as Czechoslovakia), Netherlands prevailed in 1997 and Poland was successful in 2009.


• Two-time reigning world champions Poland have claimed eight podium finishes at the European Championship this far - G1-S5-B2.
• After winning the European title in 2009, Poland finished in third (2011), ninth (2013), fifth (2015) and 10th place (2017).
• Poland won their last meetings with Estonia (2017), Czech Republic (2011), Ukraine (2005) and Netherlands (2003) at the European Championship.
• Poland do not have a losing record at the European Championship against any of their Pool D opponents.

Poland enjoy successful summer - they secured a ticket for Tokyo2020 and earned bronze in VNL

The Netherlands

• The Netherlands won the European title (1997) a year after claiming the Olympic gold medal (1996).
• The Netherlands have claimed five podium finishes at the European Championship, in consecutive editions from 1989 to 1997 - one first, two second and two third places.
• The Netherlands are on a five-match losing streak at the European Championship, since a 3-2 win against Germany in 2015.
• The Netherlands won their last European Championship matches against Czech Republic (2015), Estonia (2009) and Ukraine (1997), but lost their last encounter with Poland (2003).

Netherlands won the European title in 1997

Czech Republic

• Apart from their three wins, Czech Republic also finished on the podium in 1950, 1967, 1971 and 1985 (all runners-up as Czechoslovakia).
• Czech Republic’s best result at the European Championship since its independence in 1993 is a fourth place in both 1999 and 2001.
• At the European Championship, Czech Republic’s records against their Pool D opponents are: W6-L6 against Netherlands, W6-L9 versus Poland, W1-L0 against Estonia and W0-L2 versus Ukraine.

Czech Republic finished 2nd in the 2018 European Golden League


• Ukraine participate for the fifth time at the European Championship, and for the first time since 2005. Their best result is a sixth place in 1993.
• Ukraine are on a five-match losing run at the European Championship, since a 3-0 win over Slovakia in 1997.
• Ukraine have a W3-L3 record at the European Championship against the other teams in Pool D - Poland (W1-L1), Czech Republic (W2-L0) and the Netherlands (W0-L2).

Ukraine return to the EuroVolley after 14-year-break


• Estonia have competed in four European Championships, all in the last five editions. They have never finished higher than 11th (in 2015).
• Estonia lost their previous three European Championship matches against their Pool D opponents: 3-1 versus the Netherlands in 2009, 3-0 against Czech Republic in 2011 and 3-0 to Poland in 2017.

This is the fifth appearance at EuroVolley for Estonia


• Montenegro make their debut at the European Championship. The last country to win their first-ever match in the competition was Slovakia in 1997.

Montenegro are the EuroVolley rookies